CABINET

Decision Recording Form

Decision determined on 1 SEPTEMBER 2011

Decision will come into effect on 9 September 2011

(subject to any call-in referral before that date)

(a) Subject: Rapid transit major transport schemes local funding

options

(agenda item 5)

(b) Ward: Citywide

(c) Executive members responsible for taking the decision :

Cllr Barbara Janke, Leader of the Council

Cllr Simon Cook, Deputy Leader & Executive Member for Capital Programme, Sport and Culture

Cllr Gary Hopkins, Executive Member for Targeted Improvements

Cllr Tim Kent, Executive Member for Transport

Cllr Anthony Negus, Executive Member for Housing, Property Services & Regeneration

Cllr Guy Poultney, Executive Member for Neighbourhoods

Cllr Jon Rogers, Executive Member for Care and Health

(d) Declarations of interest:

None.

(e) Decision:

That approval be given to the following:

- 1. To commit to funding the £42 million local contribution to the three major transport schemes consisting of Ashton Vale to Temple Meads and city centre bus rapid transit scheme, North Fringe to Hengrove package, and South Bristol Link, and to enter into a joint partnership with North Somerset and South Gloucestershire to deliver these projects.
- 2. That Bristol City Council contributes £5 million towards the local contribution from a combination of its own Local Transport Plan and Community Infrastructure Levy resources, and, over the period of the funding, commits to use all reasonable endeavours to identify other funding to minimise

the overall requirement.

- 3. That either a business rate supplement or a workplace parking levy focused on central Bristol be used to raise the balance of the local contribution.
- 4. That a steering group comprising significant business representation is established to oversee further investigatory work on both the business rate supplement and the workplace parking levy, following submission of the best and final bids to government in September 2011.
- (f) Other options considered and rejected:
 As set out in the report.
- (g) Exempt information?
 None.
- (h) Decision made in exempt session?
- (i) Additional information/documents taken into account:

 (Additional means additional to anything contained in / referred to in the documents submitted to the meeting).

Public forum representations from:

- 1. Maggie Shapland
- 2. Pete Goodwin
- 3. Cllr Mark Bradshaw
- 4. David Redgewell, Anne Locke, Jenny Raggart & Norman Browne
- 5. Cllr Chris Windows

(j)	Reason for decision:
	As set out in the report.

Signed: Date: (Leader of the Council on behalf of the Cabinet)