Downs Committee 13 November 2023 Membership of Downs Committee

Report of the Clerk to the Downs Committee

Purpose of Report

1. To report the names of persons appointed to serve on the Downs Committee.

Background

2. The City Council, on 26th May 2023, appointed the following members (in addition to the Lord Mayor Councillor Paul Goggin) to serve on the Downs Committee for the 2023/24 municipal year:

Councillor Steve Smith
Councillor Philippa Hulme
Councillor Kye Dudd
Councillor Christine Townsend
Councillor Paula O'Rourke
Councillor Andrew Varney

3. At the Society of Merchant Venturers Charter Day Elections took place to decide the Membership of Downs Committee until November 2024.

The Membership of Master and 6 Merchant Venturers is as follows:

Mike Bothamley (Master)
Robert Bourns (Senior Warden)
David Freed
Bevis Watts
Mark Burchfield
Fiona Francombe
David Powell

Recommendation: That the membership for 2023/24 be noted.