Decision details

Revision to Bristol City Council School Term Dates 2021/2022

Decision Maker: Director: Education and Skills

Decision status: For Determination

Is Key decision?: No

Is subject to call in?: No

Purpose:

In England, local authority maintained schools must open for 195 days. Of these a maximum of 190 days, or the equivalent time, should be spent teaching children and young people. The remaining 5 days are non-teaching (INSET) days.
For the 2021/2022 academic year, in acknowledgement of the additional Bank Holiday for the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee on 3rd June 2022, the Department for Education (DfE) has agreed to reduce the minimum number of teaching days to 189 meaning the total school year will be 194 days. This requires a change to the previously published school term dates.
The decision was made following discussion and co-ordination with Local Authorities in South West England, including neighbouring LAs; Bath and North East Somerset, South Gloucestershire and North Somerset. Discussions focused on allowing schools adequate time to prepare and to offer in minimum disruption to school calendars, particularly during a time when schools will be timetabling summer activities, including exams.

Decision:

As the 3rd June falls within the current summer half term holiday, set by BCC, the additional bank holiday will be taken by schools on what would have been the final day of the school year, meaning the school year will now end on Thursday 21st July 2022.
Term dates will run as follows:
Term 1 Thursday 2 September 2021 to Friday 22 October 2021
Term 2 Monday 1 November 2021 to Friday 17 December 2021
Term 3 Tuesday 4 January 2022 to Friday 18 February 2022
Term 4 Monday 28th February 2022 to Friday 8th April 2022
Term 5 Monday 25 April 2022 to Friday 27 May 2022
Term 6 Monday 6 June 2022 to Thursday 21 July 2022

Alternative options considered:

None.

Publication date: 13/09/2021

Date of decision: 23/08/2021