Agenda and draft minutes

Licensing Committee - Monday, 15th January, 2018 4.30 pm

Venue: A Committee Room - City Hall, College Green, Bristol, BS1 5TR. View directions

Contact: Allison Taylor 

No. Item


Welcome, Introductions and Safety Information pdf icon PDF 92 KB


These were done.


Apologies for Absence.


Apologies received from Councillors Clark, Davies, Jama, Khan, Massey, Pearce, O’Rourke  and Whittle.


Declarations of Interest

To note any declarations of interest from the Councillors.  They are asked to indicate the relevant agenda item, the nature of the interest and in particular whether it is a disclosable pecuniary interest.


Please note that the Register of Interests is available at


Any declarations of interest made at the meeting which is not on the register of interests should be notified to the Monitoring Officer for inclusion.



There were none.


Public Forum


Any member of the public or Councillor may participate in Public Forum.  The detailed arrangements for so doing are set out in the Public Information Sheet at the back of this agenda.  Public Forum items should be emailed to and please note that the following deadlines will apply in relation to this meeting:-


Questions - Written questions must be received 3 clear working days prior to the meeting.  For this meeting, this means that your question(s) must be received in this office at the latest by 5 pm on 9 January 2018.


Petitions and Statements - Petitions and statements must be received on the working day prior to the meeting.  For this meeting this means that your submission must be received in this office at the latest by 12.00 noon on 12 January 2018.



There was none.


Election of Chair - Remainder of Municipal Year 17/18

RECCOMENDATION- To appoint a new Chair for the remainder of 2017/18.


In the absence of Cllr Hibaq Jama (Chair) and Cllr Chris Davies (VC), Cllr Peter Abraham chaired this meeting.


Since Committee had not received Cllr Hibaq Jama’s resignation of the Chair during the previous meeting on 15 January 2018, this meeting was adjourned until an extraordinary session could be held on the 25th January to give time for the situation to be resolved.


Councillor Claire Hiscott was nominated and seconded for the Chair of the Licensing Committee for the 2017/18 Municipal Year. There were no further nominations.


Resolved - that Councillor Hiscott be elected Chair of the Licensing Committee for the 2017/18 Municipal Year.



The meeting ended at 9.40am.